Totally Thames 2016: Riverside walking tour
September 24, 2016 1100 at Kelmscott House (start)
Join us for a guided walk along the river. Once known as ‘Sluts Hole’ and ‘Little Wapping ‘, the Hammersmith riverside has 3 eighteenth century pubs, and was also home to an ex-queen, a king’s mistress, and an eighteenth century celebrity chef. In the 19th century the area became home to William Morris and the arts and crafts movement. Our walk will explore these characters as well as the connections with numerous other artists and writers who have lived by the river, including Hogarth, Turner, John Donne, Thackeray, Eric Gill and Eric Ravilious.
The walk will start from The William Morris Society’s premises at 11am and will last an hour. Tickets, priced £5, are available by calling 020 8741 3735 or by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.